Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
11:30am
Katie's Cup
502 7th St, Rockford, IL 61104
Environmental Issues Committee.
Thursday, October 30, 2014
6-8:00pm
Rockford Public Library
East Branch
Community Room
6685 East State Street,
Rockford, IL 61108
Jeff Clements, author of "Corporations are Not People". How did we get to the point where we view corporations as people with the same free speech rights, freedom of religion, and right to privacy as real human beings? We know this is not what the founders intended. What can we do to stop it?

This is not sponsored by the LWVGR Election Finance Reform Committee. It is sponsored by Represent.Us.

Monday, November 3, 2014
5:30pm
Rockford Public Library East Side Branch
Coffee Shop
LWVGR Editorial Meeting. The LWVGR submits articles to the Rockford Register Star. Interested members can become an volunteer to write a 300 article or essay on a League subject.
Thursday, November 6, 2014
8:00am
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Voter Service Committee Meeting.
Friday, November 7, 2014
11:30am
Ojeda's
6030 11th St, Rockford, IL 61109
Membership Committee.
Monday, November 10, 2014
5:30-7:00 pm
Oliver Close Law Offices 3rd floor
124 Water Street
Rockford
Board Meeting. All members are invited to attend the board meeting.
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
5:30pm
Katie's Cup
502 7th St, Rockford, IL 61104
or
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Local Government Committee.
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
 
  Voter articles Due to Teresa Hill.
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
9:00am
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Education Committee.
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
11:30am
Katie's Cup
502 7th St, Rockford, IL 61104
Environmental Issues Committee.
Thursday, December 4, 2014
8:00am
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Voter Service Committee Meeting.
Friday, December 5, 2014
11:30am
Ojeda's
6030 11th St, Rockford, IL 61109
Membership Committee.
Monday, December 8, 2014
5:30-7:00 pm
Oliver Close Law Offices 3rd floor
124 Water Street
Rockford
Board Meeting. All members are invited to attend the board meeting.
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
5:30pm
Katie's Cup
502 7th St, Rockford, IL 61104
or
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Local Government Committee.
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
 
  Voter articles Due to Teresa Hill.
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
9:00am
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Education Committee.
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
11:30am
Katie's Cup
502 7th St, Rockford, IL 61104
Environmental Issues Committee.
Thursday, January 8, 2015
8:00am
Stockholm Inn
Rockford Plaza
2420 Charles St, Rockford, IL 61108
Voter Service Committee Meeting.
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
 
  Voter articles Due to Teresa Hill.
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
 
  Voter articles Due to Teresa Hill.
Saturday, June 6, 2015
9am
Forest Hills Country Club
5135 Forest Hills Rd, Rockford, IL 61107
Annual Meeting. All League members and their guests are encouraged to attend the Annual Meeting. Remember to print and bring your Annual Report from the PDF emailed to you.

Our guest speaker this year is new Rock Valley College President Mike Mastroianni.

We will enjoy a delicious breakfast and commence with the annual meeting agenda. See you there!

$25.00 payable by check sent with your yearly dues or on-line on the Join Form page on this website.

Questions? please contact Susan Janson

Thursday, August 13, 2015
6:00pm
Susan Janson's home
511 Hunter Avenue
Rockford, IL 61108
LWVGR Voter Service Summer Potluck. This is the Voter Service social event of the year! Bring whatever dish you love and we'll love it, too! This is open to any League member, recruit or guest. It's a fun time!